stop and stare

“Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate. Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure. We ask ourselves, ‘Who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented, fabulous?’ Actually, who are you not to be? We were born to make manifest the glory of God that is within us. And as we let our own light shine, we unconsciously give other people permission to do the same.”

In this moment I feel the wind rush past my cheekbones and through the wispy ends of my unbrushed hair. With eyes shut ever so tightly, I thrust open my arms in an outstretched manner and stand with my toes gripping the edge of the rock. As the wind lifts my spirit, my arms fall to my side and slowly my eyelids rise. The majestic hues capture my first gasp of breath as I drink in the glory of all I see before me…

As my mind slowly begins to wander from now to history past,
I bask in the warmth of the color that lies ahead…

I’ve got my heart set on anywhere but here.
I’m staring down myself, counting up the years.
Steady hands, just take the wheel…
And every glance is killing me.
Time to make one last appeal… for the life I lead
Stop and stare – I think I’m moving but I go nowhere.
Steady feet, don’t fail me now…

Thoughts. Fears. Questions. Doubts. Dreams. Wishes. Plans. Desires. Expectations. Needs. Tears. Songs. Pictures. Memories…

… in every ounce of felt inadequacy, I must remind myself…

“who am i not to be?”

About jlynne

[conversations are key.] View all posts by jlynne

Leave a Reply

